Yogurt Strawberry Cake (or the Perfect Guiltless Pleasure)


yogurt strawberry cake

I haven’t been active here lately but that doesn’t mean I stopped cooking. I cook dinner every night and I prep my breakfasts and lunches for a few days ahead to bring to the office. I workout and eat clean during the week but I do spoil myself a bit during the weekend; usually it is pancakes or crepes or some kind of sweets. The way I eat has changed and I am trying to figure out what kind of message I want to convey here. Until then, my blog may seem to have a confused identity. What hasn’t changed is my quest for delicious and nutritious food options.

Enough with the revelations though! A few weeks ago, a friend of mine invited me over for a cup of tea with cake. The cake was exquisite: silky and smooth, it was almost like cheesecake but without a crust. It was made with sour cream, gelatin, sugar and layers of sliced berries. It was so good I couldn’t control myself and ate a third of the cake. In some way, it was healthier than eating your regular butter-sugar-and-flour cake but not by much. And thus, I decided to comb the internet in search of a recipe of a lighter version of this delicious treat and found one here. As per usual, I tweaked the recipe a little to accommodate my own taste and make do with whatever I had in the fridge that day. Most importantly, I’d like to note that flavor possibilities are endless here as long as you pick a fruit that doesn’t have seeds in it or you may strain the mixture. I think next time I’ll make my favorite flavor – mango!

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup Greek yogurt
  • 2 cups frozen thawed strawberries
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 2 packets gelatin
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup whole milk
  • a dash of salt (optional)
  • assorted fruit for garnishing
  • chocolate shavings for ganishing

Directions:

Place yogurt, strawberries, and honey in a bowl of a blender and puree until the mixture is very smooth.

Place gelatin in a small bowl, add water, stir well and let it sit for about 3 minutes. Meanwhile, bring milk to a simmer. Cool the milk slightly and add to the gelatin.

In a large bowl, whisk together the yogurt mixture with the gelatin mixture and pour into a 6- or 9-inch springform pan. Refrigerate for at least 4 to 5 hours but preferably overnight.

Run a sharp knife around the edges of the cake before releasing it out of the springform pan. Garnish with berries and chocolate shavings.

cake topping

2 thoughts on “Yogurt Strawberry Cake (or the Perfect Guiltless Pleasure)

  1. This is THE BEST thing ever! I am so happy you shared this recipe. It literally took me 5 minutes to make and now I have an absolutely healthy, “clean” and yummy dessert for the whole week! I had 0% plain Trader Joes Greek-style yogurt and added a scoop of strawberry whey to add sweetness instead of honey. I know that two tablespoons are nothing but was trying to add more protein and sweetness while keeping it super clean. It turned out delicious, I really love this!

Leave a Reply

