Homemade Granola


IMG_0370

Ever since I was a little girl, I have always preferred savory breakfasts: fried eggs and  open-faced sandwiches (tartines) when I lived back home; bacon & eggs and crepes filled with red caviar or smoked salmon when I moved to the States. I do enjoy sweet treats in the morning on occasion: French toast, homemade pancakes with maple syrup, and crepes filled with Nutella and strawberries. I have to make a disclosure that all of the above are weekend breakfast/brunch meals. On weekdays, I eat my breakfast at work, somewhere between reading market updates and world news.

I have never thought much of granola, nor have I made it before. I top my morning Greek yogurt or cottage cheese with berries and cinnamon, or mix in some peanut butter for a savory kick. As it often happens with me, I decided to make granola just for the heck of it to experiment in the kitchen and to broaden my culinary horizons. I had gone through pages and pages of granola recipes on the Internet before I found a recipe (on a Paleo blog, again!) that I thought I could adapt to my taste. As you might know, Paleo diet excludes all kinds of grains (which is why I will probably never follow it). The original recipe contained only nuts and seeds so I had to substitute almond meal with rolled oats and adjust quantities of other ingredients. I have to say I was very pleased with the result: the granola turned out to be crunchy and chewy at the same time, sweet but not overly so, and it smelled terrific! I guess the only downside was that I couldn’t stop eating it.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 3/4 cup raw pumpkin seeds
  • 3/4 cup raw sunflower seeds
  • 2 cups raw sliced almonds
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/3 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 3 tablespoons pure vanilla
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 4 tablespoons melted coconut oil
  • kosher salt to taste

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 F degrees. Line a baking sheet with foil or parchment paper.

Mix all the dry ingredients in a large bowl. Stir in all the wet ingredients. Spread the mixture on the baking sheet and put in the oven for 15 minutes.

Remove from the oven and stir. Place back in the oven for 10 more minutes. Let cool for about 10 minutes. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

