Dessert Crêpes (Crêpes Fines Sucrées) with Orange Marmalade Sauce


IMG_0301

Are you just as sad as I am that the summer is almost over? Here in Boston, the sun is still hot and the air is still warm during the day but it turns cool and crisp at night. Although still a rare sight, you can see some yellow and even some red on the trees. In the words of Lana Del Rey –

I’ve got that summer time,
Summer time sadness…

On the other hand, I am very excited about the approaching season of fall bounty, hot coffee in my travel mug on the way to work, and hearty weekend brunches.

Speaking of brunches, about a week ago on Instagram, a friend of mine posted a picture of lemon crepes she and her husband had for brunch that Sunday.  I have been craving thin, delicate crepes ever since. Given my unending love for anything citrus, I set on to make my own version of crepes Suzette.

The crepe part of the recipe came from Julia Child’s cook book (gifted to me by the same friend, by the way). The orange butter recipe from the same book looked much too complicated to me (especially if I wanted to flambé my crepes but I chickened out). Thus the sauce recipe came about after some digging around on the Internet. See, I can’t exactly say this is a crepe Suzette recipe but I could probably call it a lazy version.

I made my batter in the blender and left it in the fridge overnight. It smelled amazing when I took it out of the fridge the next morning! I also added about a teaspoon of freshly grated orange zest to the batter right before I started cooking. The crepes were very delicate indeed, and I do recommend cooking all of them first and then folding them. You can also keep them warm in a low-temp oven if you wish.

Ingredients:

Crepes:

  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 3 Tbsp orange liqueur, rum, or brandy (I used Remy Martin VSOP cognac)
  • 1 cup flour (scooped and leveled)
  • 5 Tbsp melted butter
  • Kosher salt

Sauce:

  • 1 Tbsp butter
  • 3 Tbsp orange marmalade
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • a glug or two of orange liqueur (such as Grand Marnier)

Directions:

Crepes: Place the ingredients in the blender jar in the order in which they are listed. Cover and blend at top speed for 1 minute. If bits of flour adhere to sides of jar, dislodge with a rubber spatula and blend 3 seconds more. Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours or overnight.

Preheat a crepe pan or a skillet over medium-high heat and brush it lightly with oil. Once the pan is just beginning to smoke, ladle scant 1/4 cup batter into the pan. Quickly tilt the pan in all directions to run the batter all over the bottom of the pan in a thin layer. Cook for a minute to a minute and a half. Toss the pan sharply back and forth to loosen the crepe or loosen it from the bottom of the pan with a spatula. Flip and cook until the bottom is light brown. Please note that these crepes are very delicate and you may find it best to lift and turn them with your fingers. Fold the crepes in quarters and arrange on a plate.

Sauce: Once you finish cooking the last crepe, wipe out the skillet and add a tablespoon of butter. Let the butter melt and the foam subside. Add the orange marmalade and cook for a couple of minutes, then thin out with some OJ and cook for a couple more minutes. Add a glug or two of orange liqueur and continue to cook until the alcohol cooks out and the sauce thickens, about 1 or 2 minutes longer. Remove from the heat and spoon over the folded crepes. Dust the crepes with some powdered sugar if you wish and serve warm.

IMG_0312

Leave a Reply

