Baked Eggs with Sardines, Onion, Tomato, and Garlic


IMG_0117

As I already mentioned a few times in my previous posts, I have been paying a lot more attention to the way I eat lately. I have also been searching for alternative sources of protein to be included in my diet. I get tired of red meat very quickly. I love chicken, all kinds of fish and seafood, and some dairy products like cottage cheese and Greek yogurt. I am not a huge fan of legumes, although I do enjoy all things made of chickpeas (hummus and falafel, to name a few).

I stumbled upon this recipe in the comments section of a paleo blog. I do not follow a paleo diet, or any other diet for that matter. I was just looking up what paleo was all about that day. Anyhow, it turns out sardines are a great source of protein (and healthy omega-3’s and calcium). The smell is unbearable for a lot of people but the rewards are many. A 3.75 oz tin of sardines packed in water contains 17 g protein (and only 130 calories, for those who count). Crack a couple of eggs on top – and you got yourself a very hearty and filling breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

I used a whole tin of sardines to make one portion here. You can use a bigger dish or two individual dishes and divide a tin between them, or use a tin per each dish, and two eggs per serving. You can add other ingredients if you wish but I do recommend you eat it with hot sauce 🙂

Makes 1 serving

Ingredients:

  • 1 (3.75 oz) tin unsalted sardines packed in water, drained
  • 1 small shallot or 1/4 onion, finely chopped
  • 1 or 2 garlic cloves, pressed
  • a few sprigs fresh parsley
  • 1 small tomato, diced
  • 2 eggs
  • splash olive oil
  • salt, freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • hot sauce for serving

Directions:

Heat the oven to 500 F and preheat an ovenproof serving dish for 5 minutes. Add a splash of oil, sardines, salt and pepper, shallots/onion, garlic, parsley, and top with diced tomato. Sprinkle with more salt and pepper, drizzle with some olive oil, and put in the oven for 6 minutes.

Removed the dish from the oven, crack two eggs on top of the sardine mixture, season with salt and pepper and put the dish back in the oven for 7 to 8 minutes, until the egg whites are just set but still jiggly.

Remove the dish from the oven, let cool for 5 minutes. Serve with hot sauce.

IMG_0119

5 thoughts on “Baked Eggs with Sardines, Onion, Tomato, and Garlic

  1. I do not follow a paleo diet either – because I have no clue what it is!!!
    I never tried cooking sardines from a tin – I prefer to eat them straight since its cooked anyay. Sardines, onions, chili, salt and lemon juice makes a great sandwich filling
    And thats one fancy looking dish or whatever its called – Paleo dish?

    • Hi Mr Three Cookies! 🙂
      See, it is virtually impossible to find fresh sardines here 😦 But oh my gosh, how much I would love to try them!
      Do you mean the vessel itself? It’s from Spain 🙂
      In a gist, if you are wondering, Paleo diet implies eating like cave men back in the days used to, which means excluding all grains and dairy. I don’t want to argue if it is right or wrong. To each their own, right? 🙂

      • Sorry, I confused you. Fresh sardines are not common here as well. Canned sardines are precooked, I have never tried cooking it again – twice cooked sardines:) But I cook canned tuna which is precooked – and if I continue I will confuse myself!
        I thought grains existed for a very long time…

  2. Tried this recipe last night…..Excellent! As well as really really simple. I did make one addition – added some from tarragon to this mix. Thanks and I will try others!

Leave a Reply

