Fruit ‘N Nut Treats


IMG_9838

Lately, I have been dedicating some time to various fitness blogs. Besides fitness advice of all sorts, I have found countless recipe ideas. The funny thing is the majority of these recipes are dessert ones. It seems like the entire fitness community is obsessed with and eats nothing else but protein cookies, energy bars, etc.

The following recipe is my own. I made a trip to my local Trader Joe’s and bought a bunch of nuts, seeds, and dried fruit and berries. I wasn’t going to bake my dessert so I went with roasted salted almonds and sunflower seeds, which was beneficial in two ways: they had more flavor compared to their raw counterparts, and they already had salt added to them. I balanced dried apricots with prunes to tame the sweetness. I rolled my treats in ground flax seed for extra fiber, protein, and Omega-3’s. And you know what? These little cuties came out quite delicious! They were sweet but not overly so. They were nutty not just because of the roasted almonds but also due to the roasted sunflower and flax seeds. Heck, I think even kids may like them!

On a technical note, I do recommend you wear latex gloves when you make these treats. The mixture is quite sticky and may also get under your finger nails (= not pleasant). If you choose to buy raw almonds and sunflower seeds, I think you should roast them, and also add some salt to the recipe. I used about 2 teaspoons of honey but you may not need to add any if your mixture is already very sticky (mine wasn’t). My flax seeds came with blueberries but I think you can easily substitute with regular flax seeds. Most importantly, this is just an idea, and you can add whatever you want to your treats to make them your own.

Makes about 15 1″ balls

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup roasted salted almonds
  • 1/4 cup chopped unsulfured apricots
  • 1/4 cup chopped non-sorbate pitted prunes
  • 1/4 cup dried blueberries
  • 1/4 cup roasted salted sunflower seeds
  • 2 teaspoons honey
  • 2 tablespoons ground roasted flax seeds with blueberries

Directions:

Combine the first four ingredients in a bowl of a food processor. Pulse until the mixture resembles coarse meal. Transfer to a bowl, add sunflower seeds and honey. “Kneed” the mixture for a minute and roll into a ball.

Place two tablespoons of ground flax seeds into a flat bottomed bowl. Pinch some mixture away, roll into a ball between the palms of your hands, and drop into the ground flax seeds. Repeat with the rest of the mixture. Roll the balls in the ground flax seeds, put on a plate, and chill in the fridge for half an hour.

Store in an airtight container in the fridge.

4 thoughts on “Fruit ‘N Nut Treats

  1. Very interesting, I don’t think I’ve ever had anything like this. This one deserves a spot in those fitness blogs, ahead of the sugar laden desserts, not that there is anything wrong with it! Looks similar to havrebollar (Swedish choc oat balls) but the ingredients are totally different. Looks can be deceiving:)

  2. Hahaha! I hesitated for a whole week before posting this recipe. I have no plans of making this blog a fitness one, and I promise some things like protein muffins will never have a place here (or in my life ;-)). I do think these little cuties were very good and plan on making other kinds (like hazelnut – yum!) based on this recipe going forward (I will not necessarily post them).
    I’ve seen some recipes that did contain oats but required no cooking (what?) so I thought I’d pass.

    • That havrebollar I mention – has uncooked oats. May not sounds appetizing but really really delicious. Give it a try, if you don’t like it, you can bake it, it will become a cookie.

Leave a Reply

