Baked Pumpkin French Toast with Oat Walnut Crumb Topping


IMG_9767

I know what you’re thinking. “This girl totally lost it! She doesn’t know what season it is, and she’s making pumpkin-flavored treats like it’s fall outside” but this is not what happened, I promise 🙂 I had a can of organic pumpkin puree sitting in my pantry for a few months now. It wasn’t like it couldn’t wait until fall, it was me who couldn’t wait to use it. And I had this cool idea of adding it to my morning oatmeal. Let me tell you right away I am not claiming this idea as my own even if you asked me to – it is not good. Seriously, take my word for it, don’t do it. You may love pumpkin and all but not here, not in your oatmeal.

Anyhow, now I was stuck with an opened can of pumpkin puree. What to do, what to do? I had a frozen half a loaf of Texas toast bread left over from this recipe. And this is how I ended up with a recipe for a pumpkin French toast from Two Peas and Their Pod blog. There was a problem, however, with the streusel topping in the recipe. I needed to healthy-fy this situation. I thought of my friend Serena and her famous peach crumble. She uses a mixture of rolled oats, cinnamon, and butter to make the crumb topping. Et voila! An idea for an alternative topping was born!

I truly hope you’ll love the taste and the texture of this dish. It is melt-in-your-mouth soft yet toothy and even crunchy at the same time. Oh, and you might see a post on pumpkin biscuits or something like that very soon since I still have at least a cup of the puree left!

Ingredients:

  • 4 slices Texas toast bread or brioche
  • 1 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup canned pumpkin puree
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • a few dashes of nutmeg
  • maple syrup for serving

Oat Walnut Crumb Topping:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup walnut pieces
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon cold butter, cubed

Directions:

The night before: Cut up or place whole slices of bread into a buttered baking dish of your choice (8 x 8 or 11 x 7).

Whisk milk, egg, pumpkin puree, and all the spices and seasonings in a medium bowl. Pour the mixture over prepared bread slices. Cover with plastic wrap and keep in the fridge overnight.

The next morning: Heat the oven to 425 degrees.

Place the first 5 ingredients of the crumb topping into a bowl of a food processor and pulse a few times. Remove into a bowl and work a tablespoon of butter into the mixture with your fingers.

IMG_9771

Drizzle the crumb topping over the soaked bread. Cover the baking dish with foil and place in the oven for 15 min. When 15 minutes have passed, uncover and bake for 10 more minutes. You can broil the dish for a minute or two if you wish.

Serve hot drizzled with maple syrup.

IMG_9779

Leave a Reply

