Sweet Potato Hummus


IMG_9795

I usually go light on starchy carbs for dinner. It ‘s not that I do it for the purpose of staying slim but because starchy carbs and protein don’t sit well together in my stomach – they are just too heavy together most of the time. A typical dinner at my house is a piece of seared meat (or fish) with a generous heap of fresh salad dressed with olive oil and lemon juice.

This is why for a while now I have been kicking around a sack of sweet potatoes in my kitchen. First, I thought of baking them, then of making soup with them, then I didn’t think about them at all. And then I decided to make hummus and thought of what flavor I should give it. I recalled  that a long time ago I’d seen a sweet potato hummus recipe somewhere on the Interwebs.

Even though I cannot take credit for this ingenious idea, I still tried to make it my own by building up the rest of the flavors. What do sweet potatoes usually go with? Nutmeg, cranberries?.. That would be one awful kind of hummus, right? 🙂 And then I thought of curry and lime juice because I had recently seen a recipe for a sweet potato salad online.

I certainly didn’t want to go with the assertive flavor of curried hummus (or I would be the only one in the house eating it) so I used tumeric, cumin, and coriander which, with only 1/2 teaspoon of each, is still plenty to spice up good ol’ hummus.

Now, those are your complex carbs and proteins rolled into one. Serve it with a bunch of baby carrots (fiber) for dipping, and you got yourself a very healthy snack!

Ingredients:

  • 1 (15 oz) can chickpeas, washed and drained
  • 1/4 cup tahini paste
  • 1/4 cup lemon (or lime, or both) juice
  • 2 big garlic cloves
  • 1 medium sweet potato, peeled and cubed
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil, plus more for drizzling over
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon tumeric
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 cup cooking liquid (or more)
  • freshly ground black pepper or (smoked) paprika for serving (both optional)

Directions:

Bring some salted water to a boil in a small pan. Add the cubed sweet potato and cook for 8 to 10 minutes. Reserve about a cup of the starchy cooking liquid, set aside. Drain the potatoes and set aside to cool.

In the meantime, combine the drained chickpeas, tahini paste, lemon juice, and garlic in a bowl of a food processor. Pulse until a coarse mixture forms, then add the potatoes, all the spices, and about 1/4 cup cooking liquid. Process until a smooth mixture forms. Keep adding more liquid as needed. In the end, with the motor running, drizzle in about 4 tablespoons of olive oil.

Serve drizzled with olive oil and spindled with freshly ground black pepper or (smoked) paprika.

Leave a Reply

