Coconut French Toast


IMG_9687

I got the inspiration for this recipe from my favorite fitness personality, Zuzana Light. I was already using Trader Joe’s organic coconut oil for cooking (and skin care too) but it was she who gave me the idea of using coconut milk to make French toast. With 50 kkal per cup compared to three times that of whole milk, coconut milk works as a very tasty substitute in smoothies, protein shakes, and now in a French toast recipe.

Warning: Make sure you buy the product in a carton, not a can, since the latter is a whole different beast.

I also used coconut oil for cooking and it added a very subtle sweet taste to my toast. I substituted honey for sugar but feel free to use sugar instead. I really tried to make this recipe as healthy as possible yet I didn’t want to skimp on the main ingredient and used Texas toast bread, which isn’t exactly the healthiest option out there. I then drizzled my toast with some maple syrup and sprinkled it with toasted slivered almonds (unfortunately, I did not have any sliced almonds in my pantry today).

Makes 2 servings (actually, the egg mixture was enough to soak 5 or 6 slices of bread)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups unsweetened coconut milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • big pinch of sea salt
  • 4 slices of Texas toast bread
  • organic coconut oil for cooking
  • a handful of toasted sliced almonds
  • maple syrup to taste

Directions:

Heat some coconut oil in a skillet.

Combine the first five ingredients in a medium bowl with a flat bottom; mix well. One by one, soak slices of bread in the egg mixture. Gently shake off any excess and place soaked slices in the skillet. Cook until golden brown on both sides (about 3-4 minutes per side).

Serve warm drizzled with maple syrup and toasted slivered almonds.

One thought on “Coconut French Toast

  1. Pingback: Baked Pumpkin French Toast with Oat Walnut Crumb Topping | Yuliya's Kitchen and More

Leave a Reply

