The Ultimate Crepe Recipe


IMG_9438

Not that I mean to steal Tyler Florence’s trademark, but I have finally found it – the perfect crepe recipe! From now on, I will always make crepe batter in a blender and chill it in the fridge overnight so that I can enjoy the lightest, golden delicious crepes in the morning.

The recipe comes from Julia Child’s cookbook, which I got from a friend for my birthday in January. I adjusted her French recipe slightly by adding a teaspoon of sugar but leaving everything else intact. I think (and correct me if I am wrong) that sugar is always added to crepe batter in Russian cuisine. I also buttered my crepes Russian-style every time I removed one from the pan onto a plate.

Enjoy your crepes with your favorite topping(s)! I had mine with Nutella and sliced fresh strawberries. Or, you can serve them Russian-style with sour cream.

Makes about 25 crepes, 6 to 6 1/2 inches in diameter

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cold milk
  • 1 cup cold water
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 4 tablespoons melted butter, plus more to butter cooked crepes

Directions:

Put the liquids, eggs, and salt into a blender. Add the flour, then the butter. Cover and blend at top speed for 1 minute. If bits of flour adhere to sides of the blender cup, dislodge with a rubber spatula and blend for 2 to 3 seconds more. Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours or overnight.

Preheat a crepe pan or a skillet over medium-high heat and brush it lightly with oil. Once the pan is just beginning to smoke, ladle scant 1/4 cup batter into the pan. Quickly tilt the pan in all directions to run the batter all over the bottom of the pan in a thin layer. Cook for a minute to a minute and a half. Toss the pan sharply back and forth to loosen the crepe or loosen it from the bottom of the pan with a spatula. Flip and cook until the bottom is light brown.

Remove the crepe onto a plate and spread with a dab of butter. You can keep cooked crepes warm in a low-temp oven.

4 thoughts on “The Ultimate Crepe Recipe

  1. Pingback: Rye Whiskey Caramel Sauce

Leave a Reply

