Steak Picadillo Soft Tacos


steak tacos improved

For the past 5 or 6 months, I’ve been feeling like time is running away from me and I am barely catching up. I’ve been pushing myself to evolve in many areas, cooking being one of them. On the one hand, I’ve amassed a pretty good collection of cookbooks and magazines, signed up for Top Chef University online classes, and made progress in baking. On the other hand, I still can’t find time to try that pot roast recipe that takes hours to cook in the oven. With another long weekend coming up, I am planning to try some fresh new dishes and take pictures in the daylight 🙂

Meanwhile, here’s a recipe for steak tacos that I made for dinner last night. The original recipe comes from a Bon Appetit magazine issue but I made some adjustments to it. I used orange bell peppers because this was what I had on hand, and pitted kalamata olives since I’m not big on green olives, stuffed or not. I also did not add steak strips back to the skillet only because I didn’t want to ruin the looks of my beautiful medium rare meat. The combination of some ingredients here sounds a bit unusual but I am sure you are going to enjoy the subtle sweetness of raisins and allspice, the very pronounced heat of green chiles, and the juiciness of the steak, all wrapped up in a soft flour tortilla.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin  olive oil
  • 1 12-ounce strip of skirt steak
  • 1/2 cup 1/4-inch squares green bell pepper
  • 3/4 cup canned diced tomatoes with green chiles
  • 1/3 cup halved drained pimiento-stuffed green olives plus brine from jar
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 8 store-bought flour tortillas
  • chopped fresh cilantro for garnish

Preparation:

Heat oil in large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.  Sprinkle steak with salt and pepper. Add to skillet, sauté 3 to 4 minutes per side for medium-rare. Transfer to plate. Add bell pepper to skillet. Sauté 2  minutes. Add cumin, allspice, and tomato paste. Cook for about a minute or two. Add tomatoes with green chiles, olives, and raisins. Simmer until sauce is thick, stirring often, 3 to 4 minutes.  Season to taste with salt, pepper, and olive brine.

Cut steak into 1/3-inch-thick slices on diagonal across grain.  Add steak and any juices to sauce in skillet; toss to blend.

Char tortillas over gas flame or in broiler until blackened in  spots, 15 to 20 seconds per side. Divide filling among tortillas. Sprinkle with  cilantro and serve.

Leave a Reply

