Pumpkin Bread


I’m loving this exceptionally warm weather we’ve been having! I can still hear crickets outside my window every night (at the end of October!), and I wish it stayed like this forever. But I already see yellows and reds turn brown and rusty, trees standing completely naked when they were in their best attire just a few days ago. For weeks I’ve had this itch to make something that would taste like fall, so quintessentially seasonal, warm and mellow. I thought of roasted vegetables, hearty soups, curry… all missing something yet I couldn’t put my finger on what it was exactly.

Then last Saturday it finally hit me – I should bake. I was craving those distinctly seasonal flavors of baked goods: pumpkin, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice (I even stepped out on a rainy day and got myself a pumpkin latte from Starbucks). And since I had another accidental day off due to Hurricane Sandy on Tuesday, I woke up absolutely determined to make pumpkin bread. I found this recipe on Simply Recipes, the first one to pop up when I Google’d it. And it was just right.

Makes 1 loaf

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup pumpkin purée (I used canned organic pumpkin)
  • 1/2 cup olive or vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon allspice
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F. Sift together the flour, salt, sugar, and baking soda.

Mix the pumpkin, oil, eggs, 1/4 cup of water, and spices together, then combine with the dry ingredients, but do not mix too thoroughly. Stir in the nuts.

Pour into a well-buttered 9x5x3 inch loaf pan. Bake 50-60 minutes until a thin skewer poked in the very center of the loaf comes out clean. Turn out of the pan and let cool on a rack.

Leave a Reply

