Eggs Poached in Spicy Diced Tomatoes


Let me tell you something about myself: I eat breakfast every day. Not because I want to live a healthy lifestyle or am trying to lose weight, oh no! It’s because, unlike many of my friends, I am always hungry in the morning. (Well, let me correct myself – I am always hungry. A close friend once said I must have been born hungry.)

Weekday breakfasts are no fun. They are always rushed and not very filling so I am hungry again by 10 am. My go-to breakfast idea is a toast with some fresh ricotta and tomato slices sprinkled with salt and pepper.

Making breakfast on a weekend is one of my favorite things to do. Pure joy! I am not much of a sweet tooth so I prefer savory dishes like eggs and omelets in the morning. I turn on Foodnetwork Channel, brew fresh coffee, and get cooking…

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (12 oz) spicy diced tomatoes
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 slices of toasted bread
  • some crumbled goat cheese or feta cheese
  • chopped parsley

Directions:

Heat up some olive oil in a frying pan, add the tomatoes and heat thoroughly. Crack the eggs in and sprinkle with some salt and freshly ground black pepper (make sure the eggs are somewhat away from one another). Cover and let cook for 5 minutes on a low heat.

Meanwhile, toast the bread and arrange one slice on each plate. Top the bread with the eggs and scoop some of the tomato mixture over the eggs. Crumble the cheese over if you like and garnish with chopped parsley.

*You can opt for a different flavor for your tomatoes. I am sure roasted garlic tomatoes will do just fine. I love spicy food so this is my choice.

3 thoughts on “Eggs Poached in Spicy Diced Tomatoes

  1. прикольно. начало напомнило топик прямо какой то из практики языка :)) устной и письменной речи или как оно там называлось?

Leave a Reply

