Tabbouleh Salad (Served with Grilled Halloumi Cheese)


I have an indescribable admiration for all things Mediterranean. I love how a few humble ingredients can be combined to create an amazing balance of flavor and a colorful feast for the eyes!

Lately, I have been on a very pronounced baklava streak. Inspired to find the best sweet delight in town, I paid a visit to all places around my house and my office that had it on offer. That’ s how I ended up at one of the numerous Armenian markets in Watertown, MA. Here, I, of course, went crazy with my addiction, but I also found something that I had been looking for all along: bulgur, halloumi cheese, and many other Mediterranean specialties.

I purchased the “largest grade” bulgur – number 3 – because I love the texture and the bite it adds to my tabbouleh, but you can go classic with a smaller number (1 or 2).

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup bulgur
  • 1 cup boiling water
  • 1 Persian cucumber, unpeeled and medium-diced
  • 1 tomato, medium-diced
  • a bunch of chopped fresh parsley
  • a bunch of chopped fresh mint
  • freshly squeezed juice of half a lemon
  • olive oil
  • salt, freshly ground black pepper to taste

Directions:

Place the bulgur in a large bowl and pour the boiling water over. Add some salt, cover and let sit on the counter for 15-20 minutes. Drain any excess water.

Add the chopped veggies and herbs, lemon juice, olive oil, and black pepper if desired. Mix well and serve with grilled halloumi cheese or cover and refrigerate. The flavor will improve if the salad sits for a couple of hours.

Cut the cheese into 1/2-inch-thick slices. Combine some olive oil, lemon juice, dry oregano, and paprika in a medium bowl. Roll the cheese slices in the mixture, place in a hot grill pan and cook for 1 minute per side or until you see beautiful griddle marks develop.

Leave a Reply

