Panko-Crusted Dijon Salmon


Yesterday I went shopping for a couple of fresh lamb shoulder chops. I didn’t find any at my local supermarket but I felt totally inspired when I was passing by the seafood counter. Suddenly I remembered Giada (or Ina?) making beautiful panko-crusted salmon steaks on Foodnetwork not so long ago. I didn’t watch the full episode, nor did I bother to look up the recipe when I made this dish. Just remember to taste your mustard and go easy on it if you can’t handle your spice 😉

Oh, by the way, I was so happy I made this dish for lunch since it was a beautiful sunny afternoon and I was able to take pictures in the natural light. It makes such a great difference (given that my kitchen has no natural light and I mostly cook at night anyways)!

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 1 salmon steak
  • 2 teaspoons Dijon mustard (or less)
  • 1/2 cup panko breadcrumbs
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley leaves
  • 1/2 teaspoon Hungarian paprika (optional)
  • salt, freshly ground black pepper
  • a squeeze of lemon juice
  • olive oil

Directions:

Wash and pat dry your salmon steak with paper towels. Cut it in half along the spinal cord and remove the latter along with any visible bones in the flesh.

Line a baking pan with foil and place your steaks in it. Season with salt and pepper, give both a generous sqeeze of lemon juice, and drizzle some olive oil on top. Smear each steak with a teaspoon (or less) of Dijon mustard, cover and refrigerate for half and hour.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

Combine panko breadcrumbs, chopped parsley and paprika in a small bowl and season lightly with some salt and black pepper. Top each steak with the mixture and put in the oven for 18 minutes.

Leave a Reply

