Potato and Celery Soup


I am always reluctant to buy celery. Not because I don’t like it but because I can never figure out what to do with so much of it. I am sure your supermarket sells it in big bunches. Or, in the case of my local supermarket, it sells it in bunches of two. You only need two stalks to make soup so what are you going to do with the rest?

I made this soup out of neccessity. I was very sad to see two beautiful bunches of celery wilt away in my fridge. So I thought instead of using it as an aromatic, why don’t I use it as the main ingredient? It was a perfect solution, given that it was Saturday and my fridge had been emptied out during the week.

Ingredients:

  • 2 small celery bunches, washed and sliced
  • 1 medium sweet onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 medium carrots, chopped
  • 3 medium potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 2 dry bay leaves
  • 1/2 teaspoon dry thyme
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 quart chicken stock
  • salt, freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup half and half

Directions:

Heat the butter in a large pot over medium heat. Add the onions and cook for 4 minutes. Add the carrots, celery, thyme, salt and pepper, and cook for 5-7 more minutes.

Pour in the stock, add the bay leaves, cover and bring to boil. Add the cubed potatoes, bring to boil again, reduce to simmer and cook for 12 minutes.

Once the potatoes are cooked, take out the bay leaves and puree the soup with an immersion blender*. Add the half and half, heat through and adjust the seasoning.

Serve with chopped fresh parsley and freshly ground black pepper.

*If you don’t have an immersion blender, you can use a standard one. Just be carefull to work in small batches, wear oven mitts, and press the lid tightly 🙂

Leave a Reply

